Online Extras

Continuing Education Requirements by State

CE Requirements
24 hours every 2 years

  • Must include 2 hours on prevention of medical errors
  • Must include 2 hours on the laws and rules that govern the practice of nursing in Florida (beginning 2015)
  • One-time, 1-hour CE on HIV/AIDS prior to the first renewal
  • 2 hours every third renewal on domestic violence

Next Renewal
April 30 and July 31

Florida Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality Assurance
Florida Board of Nursing
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin #C02
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3257
Phone: 850. 245.4125
Fax: 850.245.4172

CE Not Required

Next Renewal
Jan. 31

Georgia Board of Nursing
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, GA 31217-3858
Phone: 478.207.2440
Fax: 877.588.0446
Contact Person: Sylvia Bond, MSN, MBA, RN, executive director

CE Not Required

Hawaii Board of Nursing
P.O. Box 3469
Honolulu HI 96801
Phone: 808.586.2695
Contact Person: Lee Ann Testima, executive officer

CE Not Required

Next Renewal
Aug. 31

Idaho Board of Nursing  
PO Box 83720
280 N. 8th St., Suite 210
Boise, ID 83720
Phone: 208.334.3110
Fax: 208.334.3262
Contact Person:

CE Requirements
20 hours every 2 years

Next Renewal
May 31 even years; Jan. 31 odd years

Illinois Board of Nursing
Illinois Department of Professional Regulation
James R. Thompson Center
100 West Randolph, # 9-300
Chicago, IL 60601
Phone: 312.814.2715
Fax: 312.814.3145

CE Not Required

Next Renewal
Oct. 31 odd years

Indiana State Board of Nursing
Professional Licensing Agency
Attn: Indiana State Board of Nursing
402 W. Washington St., Room W072
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: 317.234.2043
Fax: 317.233.4236
Contact Person: Tonja Thompson, Board Director

CE Requirements

  • 36 contact hours or 3.6 CEUs (for renewal of a 3-year license)
  • 24 contact hours or 2.4 CEUs (for renewal of a license that has been issued for less than 3 years; applies to the first renewal after any one of the following:
    • initial Iowa licensure by examination
    • initial Iowa licensure by endorsement from another state
    • reactivation from an inactive status)
  • 12 contact hours that are not more than 12 months old (for reactivation from an inactive status)
  • One-time, 2-hour course on abuse identification and reporting

Iowa Board of Nursing
RiverPoint Business Park
400 S.W. 8th St., # B
Des Moines, IA 50309
Phone: 515.281.3255
Fax: 515.281.4825
Contact Person: Lorinda Inman, RN, MSN, Executive Director

CE Requirements
30 contact hours every 2 years

Next Renewal
Last day of the month you were born

Kansas State Board of Nursing
Landon State Office Building
900 SW Jackson, St., Ste. 1051
|Topeka, KS 66612
Phone: 913.296.4929
Fax: 913.296.3929
Contact Person: Mary Blubaugh, MSN., RN, executive administrator

CE Requirements
14 contact hours every 2 years

  • HIV/AIDS (2 hrs) every 10 yrs,
  • Domestic violence (3 hrs) one-time only requirement,
  • Pediatric Abusive Head Trauma (Shaken Baby Syndrome) (1.5 hrs) one-time only requirement

Next Renewal
Annually, Oct. 31

Kentucky Board of Nursing
312 Whittington Parkway, Suite 300
Louisville, KY 40222-5172
Phone: 502. 429. 3300; toll free: 800-305-2042
Fax: 502.429.3311

CE Requirements

  • Full-time (minimum 1,600 hours) practitioners, 5 contact hours annually
  • Part-time (160-1,599 hours) practitioners, 10 contact hours annually
  • Unemployed/Inactive, 15 contact hours annually
  • License reinstatement, 15 contact hours annually
  • None required for first year of licensure

Next Renewal
Oct. 1-Dec. 31

Louisiana State Board of Nursing
17373 Perkins Rd.
Baton Rouge, LA 70810
Phone: 225.755.7500
Fax: 225.755.7584
Contact Person: Barbara Morvant, executive director

Continuing Education Requirements by State:
Florida - Louisiana
< Previous   |   Next >
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6


It would be nice to see each states requirements for renewal of license as some of us have more than 2 states to register for.

Pat yoder Federal Bureau of PrisonsApril 18, 2015
Butner, NC

Please tell me where to find the mandatory 2 CEU credit course on Child Abuse and Reporting that was supposed to be available on April 6th.

Joan  Kager April 11, 2015
Stockton , NJ

When is the mandated PA course Child Recognition being offered or do I have to join Nursing Elite instead?

Christine  Miller ,  RN, BSN,  retired from StateApril 08, 2015
Birdsboro , PA

Read all comments (41) >>


Email: *

Email, first name, comment and security code are required fields; all other fields are optional. With the exception of email, any information you provide will be displayed with your comment.

First * Last
Title Field Facility
City State

Comments: *
To prevent comment spam, please type the code you see below into the code field before submitting your comment. If you cannot read the numbers in the below image, reload the page to generate a new one.

Enter the security code below: *

Fields marked with an * are required.

View the Latest from ADVANCE


Search Jobs


Back to Top

© 2015 Merion Matters

2900 Horizon Drive, King of Prussia PA 19406