Individuals and Organizations Honored for Contributions to Transfusion Medicine and Cellular Therapies

AABB (formerly the American Association of Blood Banks) has announced the recipients of its 2012 annual awards and scholarships. Fifteen individuals will be recognized for their significant contributions to the advancement of transfusion medicine and cellular therapies during the recent AABB Annual Meeting in Boston, Mass.

“These awards recognize and honor individuals within the transfusion medicine and cellular therapy community who have shown dedication,vision and extraordinary leadership in a variety of areas,” said AABB President Darrell J. Triulzi, MD. “Their commendable accomplishments have helped to improve patient and donor safety.”

Recipients of the 2012 AABB awards and scholarships include:


Dale A. Smith Memorial Award – W. John Judd, FIBMS, MIBiol, emeritus professor, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Mich.; and Suzanne H. Butch, MA, MLS(ASCP)cm, SBBcm,administrative manager, Blood Bank and Transfusion Service, University of Michigan Hospital and Health Centers, Ann Arbor, Mich.

David B. Pall Prize for Innovative Research – Taku Kambayashi, MD, PhD, assistant professor, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, Pa.

Emily Cooley Memorial Award and Lectureship – Marion Reid, PhD, FIBMS, head, immunochemistry, New York Blood Center, New York, N.Y.

Hemphill-Jordan Leadership Award – Dan Waxman, MD, executive vice president and chief executive officer, Indiana Blood Center, Indianapolis, Ind.

Karl Landsteiner Memorial Award and Lectureship – Kenneth Kaushansky, MD, senior vice president of health sciences and dean of the school of medicine, Stony Brook Medicine, Stony Brook, N.Y.

Sally Frank Memorial Award and Lectureship – Patricia Arndt, MS, MT(ASCP)SBB, senior research associate, American Red Cross Blood Services, Southern California Region, Pomona, Calif.

Tibor Greenwalt Memorial Award and Lectureship – Naomi Luban, MD, chief, division of laboratory medicine, Children’s National Medical Center, Washington, D.C.


  • Dale Malloy, DPA, MT(ASCP)SBB, president and chief executive officer, The Blood Alliance, Inc., Jacksonville, Fla.
  • Jay Menitove, MD, president/chief executive officer and medical director, Community Blood Center of Greater Kansas City, Kansas City, Mo.
  • Karen Shoos, JD, chief executive officer, AABB, Bethesda, Md.
Specialist in Blood Banking Scholarship Award
  • Ryan Nobles, MLS(ASCP)CMSBB
  • Michael Scabet, MT(ASCP)
Transfusion Medicine Fellowship Award
  • Chang Liu, MD, PhD
  • Jian Chen, MD, PhD

AABB will be accepting 2013 nominations for AABB Memorial Awards in the coming weeks. All submissions are due by Friday, Jan. 25, 2013. For more information, > Professional Development > Awards and Scholarships > AABB Awards.

About The Author